Ahimaz Or Cushi?

10 05 2012

2 Samuel 18:27-32

And the king said, “He also brings news.”
27 So the watchman said, “I think the running of the first is like the running of Ahimaaz the son of Zadok.”
And the king said, “He is a good man, and comes with good news.”
28 So Ahimaaz called out and said to the king, “All is well!” Then he bowed down with his face to the earth before the king, and said, “Blessed be the Lord your God, who has delivered up the men who raised their hand against my lord the king!”
29 The king said, “Is the young man Absalom safe?”
Ahimaaz answered, “When Joab sent the king’s servant and me your servant, I saw a great tumult, but I did not know what it was about.”
30 And the king said, “Turn aside and stand here.” So he turned aside and stood still.
31 Just then the Cushite came, and the Cushite said, “There is good news, my lord the king! For the Lord has avenged you this day of all those who rose against you.”
32 And the king said to the Cushite, “Is the young man Absalom safe?”
So the Cushite answered, “May the enemies of my lord the king, and all who rise against you to do harm, be like that young man!”

Two runners took off. Ahimaz got there first and David asked him if Absalom was okay. Basically he says, “I saw a bunch of activity but I don’t really know for sure.” David tells him to stand aside and then Cushi shows up with the whole story.

I need to ask myself if I’m an Ahimaz or if I’m a Cushi. Am I zealous and eager but lacking in the full message? The bible talks about having zeal without knowledge; those who want to serve God but don’t have the maturity needed. That’s why Paul told Timothy to show himself as an approved workman who doesn’t need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of truth. If I am a man of the Word, when I arrive on the scene I’ll actually have something to say. If I have any doubt whatever regarding the message that the Lord has given me, I need to ask Him to give me clear vision so that I know exactly what He’s calling me to do.

Lord, don’t allow my zeal to outrun my knowledge and maturity in Your Word so that my words will hold weight and meaning when spoken.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment